Patient Testimonials

Testimonial HCT Repair

Google Reviews

Time to give credit where credit is due. Today marks 2 years since I had surgery on the torn lateral meniscus in my left knee caused by coming up short on a jump while snowboarding at Sierra at Tahoe back in 2009. I waited over 7 years until the pain was too much and my knee had started to be unstable.

I got an MRI after seeing an Orthopedic surgeon here in Seattle. He was supposed to be the best of the best and is the team doctor for a few professional sports teams in the area but he pretty much couldn’t care less about me or my injury and I was literally following him out of the door trying to get more questions answered about my injury… He told me the tear was too bad so a repair was impossible and Id have to have my meniscus removed. I found that totally unacceptable for me as being outdoors and exercise is such a large part of my life.

After tons of research I found Dr. Saliman on Youtube where he was demoing the Ceterix Novostitch surgical device that he invented to repair difficult tears in the knee. After he took a look at my MRI he told me he was probably the only person in the world who could perform a successful surgery on my torn meniscus. His confidence in his ability to repair the tear gave me hope that I might be able to repair my meniscus instead of remove it. I ended up flying down to Beverly Hills with my girlfriend to have the surgery. Dr. Saliman is a surgical genius and was able to successfully repair my meniscus.

After the surgery I was non-weight bearing for 6 weeks which sucked but was well worth it in the end. It took about 8 months of PT and lots of work in the gym but finally I was able to walk without any pain or stability issues. Would say that it honestly took a full 2 years to be back to 99% but I was at 90% within a year and was running, snowboarding and doing light squats in the gym.

I owe Dr. Saliman a debt of gratitude as his surgery has honestly changed my life as I won’t need a knee replacement which is apparently pretty standard within 8-10 years of a meniscus removal. Seriously, if you are trying to save your meniscus and are willing to put the work in for recovery do not even hesitate to call Dr. Saliman’s office to have him look at your MRI.

Thanks again Dr. Saliman!

- Kelsey Greer

It's been 5 years and a week since I received my "New Hip" and I am so thankful for this blessing God made possible. My new hip has allowed me to do everything I did with the old Hip, Only; without the pain! I am grateful for my surgeon "Dr. Justin D." who impressed me not just with his abilities which are exceptional but when just before surgery he prayed with me. Praying that all would go well with the operation and my recovery.Yes, I believe in God, I believe in prayer and I Thank you Lord for all the blessings that surround me. Especially the people in my life and being fortunate enough to have Dr. Justin D. as my surgeon.

- Lana Raya

I really really can't speak highly enough of my experience with Dr. Justin D. and his staff. Especially when you compare to any other doctor's office.

  1. Communication
  2. Availability
  3. Promptness
  4. Efficiency
  5. Congenial

Surgery went super well, and my knee is healing nicely. Highly Recommend!

- Joel Smith

I called the office and had an appointment within a week to see Dr. Justin. I was very please with how professional and friendly the staff is. When meeting Dr. Justin I was very pleased again. He was very professional but more then that he was friendly and confident. We discussed me having to have both hips replaced and then he had to talk about a delicate matter (to women) was my weight. He was so nice discussing this and of course with him I wasn't embarrassed nor did he act like I was a bad person for being heavy, that is huge (get it...lol) in my book. He told me it would be safer for me if I dropped some weight first before the surgery and I agreed. He could have just scheduled me for surgery but he didn't, he wants me to make a safer recovery and for that I know that I can do it and he will be the doctor to replace both of my hips. Thank you Dr. Justin for taking so much time with me and answering my questions.

- Mike Hunt

The Dr. Justin D. is amazing. I honestly can say that I have never seen such a wonderful Person who is so caring, comforting and really their for me. I was impressed by the welcoming, clean, and professional atmosphere. I would recommend Dr. Justin D. without any reservations! I am extremely pleased with my experience.

- lena gorry

Dr. Justin Saliman is the best, I recommend him highly to everyone I speak with. His professionalism, knowledge and precise approach to both of the surgeries he performed on me were greatly appreciated. I knew every step of the way what to expect before, during and after the surgery. Having both hips replaced with in a 3 month period his expertise has given me back my active life again. His staff and surgical staff are absolutely wonderful, I felt like my hand was held before and through out the surgeries, physical therapy and finally when I was released to enjoy life again. LOVE this man and his staff! and again I would highly recommend him and have to anyone in need of his services. I am a happy, active 43 year old woman with a spring in my step once again because of Dr. Justin Saliman.

- Rachel Ryan

Dr. Justin Saliman is the best, I recommend him highly to everyone I speak with. His professionalism, knowledge and precise approach to both of the surgeries he performed on me were greatly appreciated. I knew every step of the way what to expect before, during and after the surgery. Having both hips replaced with in a 3 month period his expertise has given me back my active life again. His staff and surgical staff are absolutely wonderful, I felt like my hand was held before and through out the surgeries, physical therapy and finally when I was released to enjoy life again. LOVE this man and his staff! and again I would highly recommend him and have to anyone in need of his services. I am a happy, active 43 year old woman with a spring in my step once again because of Dr. Justin Saliman.

- Arsen Gofman

Best knee surgery I've ever had ;)

He really helped make my pre and post surgery go as smoothly as possible. Friendly and reassuring. My scarring is super duper minimal. And after suggesting a great physical therapist, my knee is doing pretty great

- Brown Pride

I had a great experience with Dr. Justin D. I was having trouble with my shoulder, and she first tried some conservative approaches before doing surgery on it. The surgical staff were all very professional, and my recovery went very well. He and his office staff are very nice and made the whole process easy. I highly recommend him!

- Magnolia Brest

After some intense shoulder/neck pain, my personal trainer recommended Dr. Justin D. to me...I'm happy I went in! After some exercises, stretching, adjustments, and some light therapy-I'm back to the gym and sleeping better with my full range of motion back. If you're having any sort of back pain you should definitely visit Dr. Justin D., he will fix you right up! Highly Recommended!

- Alaska Mores

Vitals Reviews

Wonderful Doctor!

Wonderful Doctor, wonderful person. After Dr. Justin operated on my son and I got to experience his compassionate care from a parents perspective. He also took excellent care of me as well. Never too busy or rushed. Dr. Justin Saliman is the best, I recommend him highly to everyone I speak with. Highly Recommend!

- Posted on March 6th, 2018

Professional!

I had occasion to be seen by Dr. Justin D. who I found to be friendly, professional, concerned about my issues and explained my options relating to surgery. He is thorough, professional and a great surgeon. He cares about his patients and always takes the time to listen to my concerns and questions. I would strongly recommend Dr. Justin D.

- Posted on February 16th, 2018

Excellent Doctor!

After some intense shoulder/neck pain, my personal trainer recommended Dr. Justin D. to me...I'm happy I went in! After some exercises, stretching, adjustments, and some light therapy-I'm back to the gym and sleeping better with my full range of motion back. If you're having any sort of back pain you should definitely visit Dr. Justin D., he will fix you right up! Highly Recommended!

- Posted on February 9th, 2018

Great Doctor

The Dr. Justin D. is amazing. I honestly can say that I have never seen such a wonderful Person who is so caring, comforting and really their for me. I was impressed by the welcoming, clean, and professional atmosphere. I would recommend Dr. Justin D. without any reservations! I am extremely pleased with my experience.

- Posted on February 5th, 2018

Professional!

Dr. Justin D Saliman were great! His analysis and explanations were easy to understand and informative. A cortisone shot was administered to my painful left knee which worked wonders for my upcoming vacation - the first in 10 years. i went on a vacation shortly afterwards for a month and was able to walk pain free for far longer than i could have prior to this treatment. the office staff was as nice as can be and i fail to see any validity to some of the negative reviews about them. Highly Recommend!

- Posted on January 24th, 2018

Fabulous

Best possible outcomes because of Dr. Justin D Saliman! I couldn't be happier with my recent knee replacement that Dr. performed. And - I'm only 2 weeks out from the surgery! He was very upfront with the pros and cons for me. I have always felt that he truly cares about me and my situation.

- Posted on January 19th, 2018

Five Stars

Dr Saliman is a skilled & talented orthopedist who is innovating new ideas & techniques for the best of the patient.

- Posted on March 30th, 2013

Truly Great Doctor

He operated on my hip 3 months ago and I feel amazing! He was very caring and I would highly recommend him.

- Posted on March 6th, 2013

Peahen

I have seen Dr. Saliman for 2 years, had shoulder and hip surgery, he is a specialist in Orthoscopic surgery, he is friendly, professional, less than ...

- Posted on June 27th, 2012

A terrific experience

I had been suffering with a badly torn rotator cuff for over 2 years when I saw Dr. Salliman. He explained the procedure to me, answered all my questions, and was always prompt in seeing me. I called him once on a Saturday night and spoke to him within 10 minutes. It is 5 months later and my shoulder is 95%. I would strongly recommend him.

- Posted on April 13th, 2012

Patien's mother

My son had a soulder surgery 1 year ago with Dr. Charles Moon. It was absolutely unsuccesful. He had multiple dislocations after the surgery. We were very happy to meet Dr.Saliman. He performed another surgery. He was always available for us after surgery. Even being on vacation, he was returning phone calls immediately. My son feels great now, able to exersice and perform 100% his daily activities.Thank you very much, Dr.Saliman!!!

- Posted on June 14th, 2011

Torn hip labrum

Every one in his office and who assisted with surgery was exception. With the exception of Shelia, she was surgery coordinator and receptionist. She had no sense of urgency. Two time I called to speak with dr after surgery, 2 times she did not get message to dr saliman. The surgery appears to be a success once month post op, will be getting shoulder done next month

- Posted on May 10th, 2011

Hip Surgery

Dr. Saliman is AMAZING! My husband needed arthoscopic surgery on both hips. They were done 5 months apart and the recovery was a littel tougher than expected (but that is only because my husband thought he'd be walking after 2 weeks, with no crutches)It's now 2 months past teh second surgery and he's feeling amazing. The surgery was beyond successful and Dr. Saliman was and is alwyas available and informative and helpful.

- Posted on February 4th, 2011

Great doctor

Dr. Saliman did surgery on my shoulder and I am now 100% improved. He was professional and warm throughout. Great doctor!

- Posted on February 3rd, 2011

Five Stars

My appointment was at 3pm, he was right on time. Checking in at reception they were very professional and prompt, his nurse and other staff that assisted me with future appointments were all SO PROFESSIONAL. I am so far very impressed

- Posted on January 28th, 2011

Five Stars

Dr. Saliman was very professional took time to answering my questions and provided alternative therapies for my conditon.

- Posted on January 22nd, 2011

Healthgrades Reviews

It's been 5 years and a week since I received my "New Hip" and I am so thankful for this blessing God made possible. My new hip has allowed me to do everything I did with the old Hip, Only; without the pain! I am grateful for my surgeon "Dr. Justin D." who impressed me not just with his abilities which are exceptional but when just before surgery he prayed with me. Praying that all would go well with the operation and my recovery. Yes, I believe in God, I believe in prayer and I Thank you Lord!

- Eleven M in Los Angeles, CA – Feb 26, 2018

I had occasion to be seen by Dr. Justin D. who I found to be friendly, professional, concerned about my issues and explained my options relating to surgury. He is thorough, professional and a great surgeon. He cares about his patients and always takes the time to listen to my concerns and questions. I would strongly recommend Dr. Justin D.

- Andy H in Los Angeles , CA – Feb 15, 2018

Dr Saliman did my labral tear and FAI surgery in 2017 and it’s pretty much back to brand new. He seems like a really knowledgeable surgeon and very friendly. My surgery was more complicated than expected and he did everything he could to make sure i will not need a hip replacement. I would recommend him

- Feb 07, 2018

I highly recommend Dr. Justin D. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and will work with you to accommodate appointments that work with your schedule. I primarily worked with assistant who is super helpful, knowledgeable and was a huge asset to recovering from my injury. Thank you Dr. Justin D.

- Bevert D in Los Angeles, CA 90048 – Feb 07, 2018

Dr. Justin D. is a delight to work with. Super nice guy, great listener, and is easy to schedule with. He also provides a variety of services, ranging from adjustments to acupuncture to massage therapy to even fitting you for orthotics. Highly recommended!

- Andy H in Los Angeles, CA – Jan 31, 2018

Yelp Reviews

Dr Saliman is an amazing Doctor. Last year when I experienced very bad pain in my left knee I eventually went to see Dr. Saliman who was able to diagnose the issue right away. Soon after (July 2018) he performed the surgery to correct my problem and I am now pain free and back to full mobility! This was at first a scary and unknown medical issue for me but Dr Saliman was able to get me back to health - so grateful and would recommend him!

- Maggie M.

Dr Saliman saved my life with this hip surgery! I suffered debilitating pain for years by relying on pain killers and steroid shots. The surgery was minimally invasive trough laparoscopy, the scaring was so tiny, like a lentil size.

The pain after surgery was considerably intense, quite unbearable for the first few days... but with time and Phisical Theraphy things started to heal and it's been amazing ever since. When I do yoga now I noticed that the hip that was operated on is 20% more flexible than the other!

- Madhumati G.

I can honestly say that Dr. Saliman changed my life with the arthroscopic hip surgery he performed on me one year ago. I had a tear and separation of my labrum due to underlying impingement, and was sometimes limping and always in severe pain by the time I finally sought out the help of a specialist. I'm a fitness instructor (specifically, barre) and very active, and somehow managed to repress and live with the pain for years until the tear was so bad that I could feel my labrum bunching in my hip (gross, I know!)

Dr. Saliman identified the cause of my pain within the first minute or so of us meeting and then ordered the appropriate tests to confirm the diagnosis. I had previously been to a doctor who had sent me to get a cortisone injection at a place that did a horrible job and I was a bit traumatized by the pain they had caused me during the procedure, so was anxious when I heard that I needed a dye injection for the MRI. Dr. Saliman was extremely understanding and even wrote a note on my paperwork specifying that the injection be administered by one of the two most senior doctors who perform them at Cedars (they were great and understanding of my nervousness as well).

Dr. Saliman is no nonsense and very to the point, which I personally appreciate. He talked to me on the phone for a long time before my surgery, letting me know all of the details and clearly stating that it takes a year for your hip to fully heal. This surgery is no joke and the recovery is tough, BUT I was back to doing barre in six weeks. Let me repeat that for the people in the back; I was back to taking Bar Method in SIX WEEKS. Albeit very, very carefully, and as I'm a professional barre instructor I don't necessarily recommend you try that unless you are as well.

I have met another patient of his who had the same surgery as I did years before me, and she's very active and doing great as well. Her husband is an orthopedic surgeon and insisted that she had nobody but Dr. Saliman perform this surgery on her - that should tell you something about his chops if he's the surgeon that other surgeons send their loved ones to. I've also met people who have worked with him and they all speak so, so highly of him.

Dr. Saliman is also a very funny guy whose sense of humor can be described as dry. The first thing he said to my sister who was in the waiting room after my surgery was, "Well: that was a bad hip."

His assistant Glenna is amazing!! So kind and helpful.

For reference for those reading, I had just turned 32 when I had the surgery. My understanding of this type of surgery is that it's a "young man's game," and done instead of hip replacements for younger patients because hip replacements need to be redone every twenty years or so. I don't mean to sugar coat anything; the recovery is very painful and it takes a long time for flexibility to return (which is probably more noticeable for those who are normally very flexible and active). Physical therapy is an absolute necessity, as is staying active. The day after my surgery I walked a quarter of a block and back with my crutch (and my sister there in case I fell) and I did that every day thereafter, walking a bit further as I felt ready. If you do not move and challenge yourself, your hip will remain very stiff and the healing process will be much slower. You have to really want to return to activity, which I think may be part of why this surgery works out so well for athletes and dancers. For recovery, do yourself a favor and get a raised toilet seat and an ice machine. They are godsends. Trust me.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed that I never need this surgery done on my other hip but, if I do, I know who I'll be going to!!

- R. E.

Love this guy. Was great with my wife for her hip surgery. Very inquisitive and compassionate. Kept us informed every step of the way. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

- David T.

he is the most amazing and knowledgeable doctor I have ever met he's been treating me for the pain in my shoulder last 2 months and he injected steroid without any pain. Previousely I have done my knee surgery with him 4 years ago he did excellent work. He takes care of his patients and listens to their concerns. Thank you so much Dr. Saliman we need more excellent doctors like you.

- Morvarid K.

It pains me to read the recklessly bad review on here, but that says to me everything about the person who wrote it, not Dr. Saliman. Dr. Saliman is quite an exceptional doctor. He did hip labral tear repair and impingement surgery on me THREE WEEKS ago, and I could tell how much better it was the very night I went home. At this point, I have almost NO PAIN!! And I was in quite a lot of pain before. I could barely walk, let alone go up stairs. As is said in other reviews, he goes over everything in perfect detail, in a very comprehensible way. If I could give him ten stars, I would. I have had four unrelated surgeries with three different surgeons before, and I know how to analyze a doctor.

- K. E.

I had hip surgery with Dr Saliman in 2017 for a Labral tear and FAI. The situation was much worse than he expected and he did everything he could to make sure I did not need a hip replacement. I am incredibly grateful to him. I'm confused by a lot of the comments here saying he has cold-ish bedside manner and can only assume these comments are from jealous competitors because I found him to be extremely warm and great about answering questions. Since surgery I've had more questions re: PT etc and he's always gotten back to me. I would recommend him.

- Elizabeth T.

Dr. Saliman is an Excellent Surgeon!!!! He operated on my son's shoulder , did great job fixing the mess from the other surgeon as well . My son was able to go to his normal life within short period of time.

Dr. Saliman was easy to get hold of during recovery time. Promptly return all our calls.

Much appreciation!!!!

- Marina Y.

Great surgeon! He performed hip arthroscopy on my left hip on 11/23/15. This doctor takes the time to explain to you in detail the pros and cons of the procedure. One thing that I loved about Dr. Saliman is that he took the time to call me on two separate occasions to answer my questions. He was thorough and honest. He doesn't sugarcoat anything and it's refreshing.

Yes....appointment times are so far into the future but the wait is worth it if you want the best.

I have recommended him to everyone and also shared his contact info on a Labral Tear Recovery Facebook Group I am apart of, that's how much I trust this man.

- Priscilla C.

Sorry there are some negative ratings here. Dr. Saliman operated on my niece for a very complex shoulder problem. He was terrific to her and fixed her shoulder perfectly and it has held up nicely for several years of tennis now.

- Jane O.

Great Surgeon! I have had two surgeries on my shoulders. My first surgery was somewhat difficult because of the massive cuff tear and the long healing time. My second surgery was more than successful. I can now play tennis with my left arm.

Thank you Dr. Saliman.

- Carol K.

Fantastic results for FAI hip impingement and a labral tear. I got multiple opinions prior to surgery and Dr. Saliman was hands down the most knowledgeable and the nicest doctor I met with, plus his office staff, especially Glenna, are so thoughtful and kind.

- Natalie J.

Great surgeon. I had a labral tear repair last September 2013. This past September 2014, I completed my triathlon faster than I have in 6 years! My hip feels great. I highly recommend Dr. Saliman.

- Kelly M.

Dr. Saliman would get 10 gold stars if Yelp allowed it. He performed 2 surgeries on me, 1 on each knee, using his own device, Ceterix Suture Passer. My experience has been tremendous that I want to go there for all my health needs. My knees are healing perfectly, I already had a post-op MRI and it looks perfect. He also did a vision scope after 4 months of surgery to take picture and videos of how my menisci healed. It looks like there was never a tear at all. I call it a complete miracle. I was just so impressed and want to tell everyone about him. His technique worked and I cannot wait to go back to sports as before....he saved me and my knees because I could barely even walk before I met him. He is extremely smart and really funny and just overall a cool guy. If you think you may have a knee, hip or shoulder problem, you must see Dr. Saliman for a consultation. I drove to see him all the way from Orange County. It's a little out of the way but so worth it to preserve your knees and health. I don't regret any of the time spent in traffic and would do it again if I had to. He works with a tremendous staff and you are just overall very well taken care of.

- Katerina H.

Write a Review

If you're interested in submitting a testimonial for Justin Saliman, MD, Please use the form below to do so.

Thanks!

Fields marked ( * ) are required

Book an Appointment